British Mandate (1920—1948)  

1920 The League of Nations ‘awards’ Britain the Mandate of Palestine.

1920 Increased Jewish immigration and settlement with British support.

1936 — 1939 Palestinian Arab Revolt against British authorities, protesting increasing Jewish immigration.

1940 — 1948 Zionist terrorism and sabotage against the British authorities.

1947 UN Partition Plan to divide Palestine into separate Jewish and Arab states.

1947 — 1949 Ethnic cleansing of more than 700,000 Palestinians by Zionists – The Nakba (Catastrophe).

1948 Zionist declaration of the State of Israel.

1948 UN General Assembly Resolution 194 declaring right of return to their homes or compensation for Palestinian refugees.

Era: British Mandate (1920—1948)